Customer Satisfaction Models

24/09/2022 0 By indiafreenotes

Types of Customer Satisfaction Models 

For businesses, it’s always important to know what makes their customers happy and then plan strategies to meet their expectations. The good thing, the industry has various models to gauge customer satisfaction.

The four types of customer satisfaction models are:

  • The Disconfirmation of Expectation Model
  • The Performance Model
  • The Rational Expectations Model
  • The Expectations Artefact Model

The customer satisfaction model is a set of causal equations that look to measure how happy customers are with a company’s products, services, or overall performance. The model is a helpful tool for companies to determine the ways to change, improve or upgrade their products and services with the view to make customers happy.

A model of customer satisfaction takes into account various factors such as perceived quality, perceived value, and customer expectations in ascertaining customer satisfaction. For a business, it’s one of the best tools to measure customer satisfaction level with their brand and take steps to improve that.

The Kano Model of Customer Satisfaction

The Kano Model was first conceptualized and created by Professor Noriaki Kano in 1984. It was developed as a part of the research into various factors of products or services that satisfy customers.

The Kano Model is a framework to identify the most important features in a product and their expected role in boosting the level of satisfaction for users. It also shows the relation between customer satisfaction level and the different attributes of a product or service

The focus of the Kano model is to help teams view products from the user’s point of view.  

By using the Kano Model, it’s possible to create products that not only meet customers’ needs but also ensure lasting value over time.


The Kano Customer Satisfaction Model brings a rational, structured approach to product development. It also offers a great insight into the product attributes that are supposed to be important to customers.

Teams that employ this model pull together a list of potential new product features or attributes with the capability to enhance customer experience. Those attributes are then weighed according to two key criteria:

  • The resources and investment needed to implement them.
  • Their potential to make customers happy.

The product attributes are split into four categories:

Threshold Attributes: Customers expect these attributes and therefore they are the “musts” of a product or service.

Performance Attributes: These are features that deliver a proportionate increase in customer satisfaction and customer is always willing to pay for a product for its performance attributes.

Excitement Attributes: These attributes are generally unexpected by the customers and their presence naturally delights them and ensure high satisfaction. 

Indifferent Attributes: They have little or no importance to the customer and neither do they impact the decision-making.